IronPigs & The National Anthem

I have mixed feelings as I write this. Let me describe what happened to start off the IronPig’s double header vs. Buffalo tonight.

I was at the Club Level bar waiting for the game to start. Just before the National Anthem the bartenders stop serving, go over to the big sound proof doors and open the doors so those inside can clearly hear and honor the National Anthem as is it sung or played.

One of my favorite moments of the night. (Some of you may or may not know I am a 14 year veteran of the United States Marine Corps)

I love the National Anthem.

Tonight the singer came out and belted out one of the best renditions I’ve ever heard. It was pretty clear this woman was a professional singer.

Before I go any further I will flash back to earlier in the evening. The Noise Nation staff is pretty familiar with the Press folks who frequent Coca Cola Park. Tonight we saw some outsiders going around with a film crew and wondered to ourselves who they were. They seemed focused on the opening “ceremonies” before the game.

Back to the National Anthem and as the angel voiced singer got to “Home of the Brave” the crowd erupted in cheers and applause. I was impressed. A moment passed and she kept going. Now I know the National Anthem has more than one verse and most within my sight smiled with pride that this gal was both knowledgeable and willing to sing all the verses. More so was I surprised that the tight scheduled team would allow her to keep going as the “Norm” is generally the first verse. Fans dutifully stood back up and remained so through the rest of the Anthem.

I was impressed. I really was. This woman, in my opinion, was THEE best to sing at Coca Cola Park here in Allentown. Ever.

Kind of reminded me of the movie “Mystery Alaska” (Click ahead to 4:30 in the below video for the scene I’m referencing)

Later I found out that her act was a gimmick, a prank, a test. Rumor has it that the film crew was from Sports Illustrated and the singer was a plant (with the team’s permission) to gauge the reactions of fans, players and staff to hearing the full National Anthem being sung before the game.

Also of note, it was reported that IronPig’s coach Sal Rende did not, in fact, have his stopwatch in hand tonight. (For those who guessed on this last week, you appear to be correct)

Inquiring minds want to know! Photo by Cheryl Pursell

Inquiring minds want to know! Photo by Cheryl Pursell

I got kind of a bitter taste in my mouth. Just prior to finding this out an on field contest revealed a “prize” in the IronPig’s version of “Let’s make a deal” where a young girl chose the big box her father, who just returned from duty in Afghanistan, was hiding in. A very emotional and inspiring moment.

Welcome home! Photo by Cheryl Pursell

Welcome home! Photo by Cheryl Pursell

Now I loved hearing the entire National Anthem and loved the singer who sang it with pride and enthusiasm without turning it into an American Idol audition but I cringed a bit when I realized that this could been a “test” to see how people would react.

Personally, I believe the Lehigh Valley reacted in a good and respectful way. My hat’s off to you IronPig fans.

To Sports Illustrated.. do not doubt our Patriotism. We love the USA, good or bad. Just like we love our IronPigs!

UPDATE: 12:08AM

As Noted from Decal, we learned the identity of tonight’s National Anthem performer!

lenahall

Also pointed out that Lena is part of a Tony winning Broadway show called “Kinky Boots” who is Directed by Jerry Mitchell, uncle of IronPig Derrick Mitchell.

OinK!

For those interested:

O say can you see by the dawn’s early light,
What so proudly we hailed at the twilight’s last gleaming,
Whose broad stripes and bright stars through the perilous fight,
O’er the ramparts we watched, were so gallantly streaming?
And the rockets’ red glare, the bombs bursting in air,
Gave proof through the night that our flag was still there;
O say does that star-spangled banner yet wave,
O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave?

On the shore dimly seen through the mists of the deep,
Where the foe’s haughty host in dread silence reposes,
What is that which the breeze, o’er the towering steep,
As it fitfully blows, half conceals, half discloses?
Now it catches the gleam of the morning’s first beam,
In full glory reflected now shines in the stream:
‘Tis the star-spangled banner, O! long may it wave
O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave.

And where is that band who so vauntingly swore
That the havoc of war and the battle’s confusion,
A home and a country, should leave us no more?
Their blood has washed out their foul footsteps’ pollution.
No refuge could save the hireling and slave
From the terror of flight, or the gloom of the grave:
And the star-spangled banner in triumph doth wave,
O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave.

O thus be it ever, when freemen shall stand
Between their loved home and the war’s desolation.
Blest with vict’ry and peace, may the Heav’n rescued land
Praise the Power that hath made and preserved us a nation!
Then conquer we must, when our cause it is just,
And this be our motto: “In God is our trust.”
And the star-spangled banner in triumph shall wave
O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave!



Categories: CherylPursellsPhotos, Lehigh Valley IronPigs

13 replies

  1. Lena Hall did a really nice job. She is in the Tony winning Broadway musical “Kinky Boots”.. The director and (Tony award winning) choreographer of Kinky Boots is a guy named Jerry Mitchell. Jerry Mitchell happens to have a nephew named Derrick who plays for the Ironpigs.

    I also believe (but not positive) that the camera crew was from Sports Illustrated Extra Mustard, website at http://extramustard.si.com/

  2. I’ve never heard more than the first verse of The Star Spangled Banner sung at any sporting event anywhere until tonight. It was wonderful! And I now know why “Kinky Boots” won so many Tony Awards. Lena Hall was incredible! I agree with you, it was the best rendition I’ve ever heard — certainly the best ever sung at an IronPigs game. And I’ll stand for all three verses anytime anyone wants to sing them (and can remember them).

  3. Like Jim, I’m certainly OK with hearing the entire anthem sung–and I’ll certainly stand with my hat off for the entire thing. However, I’m not sure I’m OK with using it as a “social experiment” or as a comedy piece to make fun of fans and players on Sports Illustrated Mustard Whatever. I wasn’t OK when Roseanne Barr tried to do that, either. Why didn’t they do it at an MLB game? I’ll tell you why: because the national media would have picked it up and put them to shame. But oh, look at the silly Minor League fans and players who didn’t know about the other verses!

    For my part, I was only wondering how long it would take the IronPigs staff to turn off the microphone. I knew about other verses, but I wasn’t sure how many. What if there were 17? At what point does Lindsey tap the singer on the shoulder?

    But no worries, they were in on it. So next time IronPigs, let us in on the joke, too.. Let us know that a professional singer will be performing the entire song. We’re up for it, I promise you.

  4. Like the funeral giveaway and various other promotions, I wouldn’t be surprised to see this happening once a season, if only ‘cuz the umpires may have told them not to do it any more often. (They would have to have been apprised of, and approved, this venture beforehand)

    True story: for years my high school (Easton), like many, printed programs for sporting events… when the anthem appeared in print, only the last verse was included!

  5. I must agree with all the others that this was definitely the best we’ve heard in 6 years! But I am also a bit disturbed to hear that it was a gimmick of sorts. It would have been better had the fans known not to sit down after the1st, or even the 2nd, verse, as it now makes Pigs fans look like idiots for not knowing when the song is or isn’t over. I even heard a number of negative comments, such as “show off”, “big deal because she’s on Broadway”, and more. I, too, am glad to stand for 3 verses – or even all 4 – but it would be nice to know in advance and not be made to look the fool for not knowing.
    P.S. I’d also like my chance to sing our National Anthem for a Pigs’ game. But since those that judge the auditions seem to like the “American Idol” wannabes, I probably won’t ever get selected. (I sang several times at Ambassadors games, and was personally thanked for honoring our country by Peter Karolly, the owner)

    • Kathy, did you ever audition? If you haven’t, do it. Contrary to what you think, if you have a good voice you probably will make it. There have been many repeat performers this season, and I’m sure that wouldn’t be necessary if enough good singers auditioned! No, they don’t like “American Idol” wannabes!! (Although they do invite celebrities from the area to sing if they’re available.)

      I don’t think the performance was a “gimmick” to make us all look like a bunch of idiots. I think they were looking for fans’ reactions — and what they’ll get is an entire stadium full of patriotic people pleasantly surprised, thrilled by the performer’s ability to remember all the verses and her beautiful, rich voice.

  6. God Bless America before game 2 was perfect also. On a different note, congrats to Pigs fans, all SEATS are sold for championship game——————-let’s hope PIGS make playoffs now, technically 3 back with 6 to go—

  7. Another tough game last night … Doch noch, Kopf hoch!!!

    All previously stated goals are still well within reach :

    1. finish with a won-loss record above .500 pct
    2. finish with average attendance in excess of 9,000 per game (IronPigs currently stand at 8,970 per game after 64 dates) for a fifth consecutive season
    3. defeat intra-state, eternal enemy Scranton/Wilkes Barre Yankees and hoist handsome Iron Rail trophy

    Auf geht’s.

Trackbacks

  1. Most folks aren’t aware of the full version of the Star Spangled Banner | BagOfNothing.com
  2. Most folks aren’t familiar of the full version of the Star Spangled Banner | BagOfNothing.com

Leave a comment