A New Soccer Fan? Philly Union Home Opener!

I’m going to start this post by saying.. this is not a family friendly post.

*** Viewer Discretion is Advised ***

The following will contain “not-so-family-environment” information.

If you are not up for it, please stop reading here. Click here to view a more family friendly site.

***
***
***

This afternoon a few of us Noise Nation members took a trip down to PPL Park for the Philadelphia Union Soccer Team’s Home Opener. Final score of the game Philly 1 – Colorado 2. The game was exciting but onto other aspects.

This was not an inexpensive, value oriented adventure. We got decent seats with a nice view of the whole field. Ticket price – $40.

The view from our seats

Parking – $20

$20 seems insane for parking but if you’ve ever been to Chester, PA you’d understand the added security of having someone keeping an eye on your vehicle. I took a few photos of this “rough” of which this “diamond” of a park that PPL park is in the middle of but chose against publishing them. It looks like the soccer stadium was placed dead smack in the middle of this downtrodden area in hopes of revitalizing it. (Sound familiar?) Well, I didn’t see any revitalization but it looks far, far worse than Allentown.

We got there early and the team store was open. One of the few points of this part that didn’t absolutely drain the wallet.

Every staff member I encountered was super friendly and helpful

That being said, I did some shopping.

Jersey – $55
Customization of Jersey – $20
2 – Team Pins – $10
Car magnet – $7

New hat and jersey

Not too bad. They even offered to deliver the jersey to my seat if it wasn’t ready by game time. Great service there.

Then we got inside.

For Kram’s favorite topic, we checked out the food. Holy moly Batman, these prices were insane.

Yikes!

Double Yikes!

$10 for a burger and small hanful of fries. Not a terrible deal.

Three chicken tenders and small amount of fries - $9. Not terrible.

We ate cheaply.. relatively. There is no way I’m paying $10 for a hot dog no matter how big it is. Nor $10-$13 for a stadium beer.

Moving on.. there is a section of the stadium set aside for the Union’s most dedicated fans called the “Sons of Ben.” They are loud, they are rowdy and they are far away from being family friendly… yet incredibly nice friendly folks.

They wave flags, bang drums and sing songs throughout the entire game. Some selections include:
– A version of the Muppet’s classic, “Mahna-Mahna”
– You S*ck Ref
– You’re an A**hole
– Hey Ref, S*ck my B*lls

In fact, when the opposing team is introduced following each player’s name the entire crowd yells, “S*cks!”

For example: “Starting for the (opposing team) #22 John Doe” to the crowd response “S*cks!”

Also, the entire section on the River End where these diehards sit, turn their backs on the opposing team as they take the field.

They take soccer very, very seriously.

Hey kids, if you’re still reading, I doubt your parents will take you anytime soon. You’ll have many years to get to one of these games in the future.

Other notes of the game…

The game was broadcast nationally on NBC Sports TV for the sellout 19,074 in attendance. The crowd sang the National Anthem. There was a big screen in game marraige proposal in the row immediately behind us. She said yes to two Unions this afternoon.

It was a great experience but as the final seconds clicked off the clock solidifying the Philly Union’s loss this afternoon there was no fun to be had. There were no smiles. There was no jocular ribbing and smiling on the way out. In soccer, winning is fun… losing is not fun. It’s not how well they played the game, it’s if they win and winning is the only time these fans have fun.

I began this by proposing there might be a new soccer fan created today and I have to say I am not yet a soccer fan. I did have fun. I smiled on the way home. I enjoyed my day trip to Philadelphia and my new Union Jersey, hat and other fun stuff.

I am not yet worthy to call myself a fan of soccer as these true fans have shown me what true, all out, die-hard fans should be like.

Do not confuse their fanaticism as an insult. These folks are intelligent in all aspects of the game. They are friendly and courteous to fellow fans, judgemental of the officiating and downright nasty to the opposing team. They are soccer fans.

It was a good fun day for the four who made the trip but the pricetag is too high for me to make it more than a once or twice a season event. (I will definitely eat before the game if/when I get back to another one.

And definitely not for the youngsters.

Enjoy!



Categories: Noise Nation-Dan

9 replies

  1. When I went to a Flyer’s game 2 years ago, when they announce the opposition, the crowd yells out su*ks. So, I’m assuming they got that from them. We won’t be taking in any Union games any time soon.

  2. Yeah, soccer fans are intense…and fans here in the states are tame. I’ve been to a football game in Australia, and it is extremely intense!! I have a couple friends who are Manchester United fans…if you think the Union game was not family friendly don’t ever attend a football game in the UK! 🙂

  3. http://phillies.scout.com/2/1169004.html

    The Phillies sent four players to baseball’s unemployment line on Sunday. Pitchers Ryan Feierabend and Jesus Pirela along with outfielder Brian Gump and shortstop Alan Schoenberger were given their unconditional release by the Phillies.
    Gump was drafted by the Phillies in the 26th round of the 2009 Draft and hit .239 as a minor leaguer, climbing as high as Clearwater, where he spent all of last season. Initially, Gump had been drafted by the New York Mets in the 46th round of the 2008 Draft, but didn’t sign.
    Feierabend has spent parts of three seasons in the majors with the Seattle Mariners, but hasn’t pitched at that level since 2008. Last season, Feierabend was 10-8, 5.39 in 28 games – 23 starts – with the Lehigh Valley IronPigs.
    Pirela, 23, was signed as an international free agent and played three seasons for the Phillies in the Venezuelan Summer League before making his debut in the states in 2010 with the Gulf Coast League Phillies and then moving up to Williamsport. In two seasons in the U.S. Pirela went 7-2 with a 4.83 ERA.
    Schoenberger, 23, was signed out of Australia and had been in the Phillies’ minor league system since 2007, hitting a combined .217 while playing primarily at second, third and short, with a few opportunities in the outfield.

    • From Brian Gump’s blog:
      I was released by the Phillies this morning. I was given a heartfelt dismissal from the Brass, who indicated that they hold me in very high esteem and thanked me for my hard work and professionalism, and that they also wanted to let me go early to give me the opportunity to get picked up by another organization.
      I just wanted to take a quick moment out from the scrambling and making calls and getting my things together to offer the most genuine of Thank You’s to my scout that drafted me and has continued to support me through my career, Shane Bowers, the Phillies Organization, my teammates, coaches, the Phillies fans for so many great memories and experiences. The Phillies have treated me like family and I have nothing but respect and admiration for the organization.
      It has been an outstanding experience and I look forward to seeing where I land, whether it is with another organization on the field or in the front office, or somewhere else. I really have no idea at the moment how things will shake out.
      I have often thought about the possibility of trying pitching, something I have always felt extremely comfortable doing. Though my professional experience on the mound is only 2 scoreless innings, I have found lefty’s with a strong arm that can throw strikes tend to have an easier time finding jobs than most, but we’ll see how everything shakes out. Maybe getting that shot is a pipe dream, but I believe I am capable or maybe I’ll get another shot as an outfielder which I know I can do at a very high level if given the opportunity.
      Adversity breeds greatness, so I’ve got to battle on and see where this takes me.
      One door has closed, now its time to see what new door opens. Stay tuned.

  4. Amanda has it right. I’ve seen both Manchester United and Manchester City play in England. You haven’t been to a real football game until you see literally legions of police in riot gear and associated squadrons mounted on horses outside the stadium to shepherd opposing fans to their respective sections in the stadiums prior to the match.

    The Germans, who are noted throughout Europe for their effective crowd control, are never afraid to break out the water cannon before a big game!

    (for verification, check out “Hamburg Derby Day – Plenty Of Pictures” 9/20/2010)

    I decided against pointing out Chester is a bona-fide war zone to the Germans in my Union articles appearing this weekend … the last thing they are ever going to do upon visiting Philadelphia is go to a soccer game.

    🙂

  5. The Red Bulls aren’t in much better of a shape out in Harrison, NJ. Their park sits nekkid amid acres of brownfield areas — demolished factories mostly, including the former RCA television tube plant — that somewhere down the road will be graced with multiple-story buildings reminiscent of some European cities, with businesses galore at street level and high-end apartments above… or so they think…

    • Cheap jokes aside, Grupo Bimbo (actually their American subsidiary based in Horsham, PA) has a presence at CCP with the right-field board for their baked-goods brands (Maier’s, Arnold, Stroehmann et al)

  6. Thanks for this report!

    I’m not afraid to take my kids to that type of atmosphere; I’m just afraid they’d LIKE IT. I’ve already got to hold my older one back from taunting the opposing pitcher in the first inning at The Coke. I can only imagine…

    But I’m glad the team is being supported and that they’re filling the stadium. I wonder if PPL has any money left to sponsor an arena…

    That’s a lot of scratch for grub. I don’t think I paid that much at MetLife when I saw the New York Giants play NFL Football. Crimony.

    So, no onion rings, then?

Trackbacks

  1. The Philly Soccer Page » “Two unlucky goals.” Califf controversy. Quotes & match reports from Sunday’s loss. More.

Leave a comment