Philly Soul Football, and Econ 101

Supply and demand.

Isn’t that taught on the first day of Econ 101?

So it feels like Philly Soul playoff tickets aren’t so much in demand these days at the PPL Center, for Sunday’s conference championship game.

A couple weeks ago, I purchased a 2-pack which included both games, if necessary, and I could save a little on the fees and get $5 off the second game.  Still, DiPro and I wanted the club section, so the tickets were expensive.  $55 each for the first game and $50 for the second game.  Each ticket came with about $17 in fees.  Usually I’ll get four tickets or more in case kids or others want to come along.  Not at those prices.  But it’s the playoffs and the other Soul game we weren’t able to sit where we wanted so I went for it.

24 hours after my ticket purchase, I got an email from the SteelHawks with a discount code for the Soul tickets.  Without looking it up, I think it was 15 or 20% off.  Fool me once, I guess.  I figured there would be a discount; I should have waited.

Then, I got an email from the Wells Fargo Center about a week later–35% off.  Sheesh.  Fool me twice.

The first game had pretty good attendance–better than I thought they’d have with about 5,000 in the house including quite a few in the upper level.

And now, $10 tickets.  Yesterday, Phantoms season ticket holders got an email with the code PHANSOUL and every single ticket in the house is now $10.  In fact, the seats right in front of mine are open.  $10 each, $6.50 in fees.  But what’s full price?  Now it’s $25 for the seats in front of mine, not $50 like it says on my tickets.

Fooled me three times.  Supply and demand.  And, the upper level is now closed, it appears.  Fans with seats up there were probably “upgraded” so that they could fill the lower level and save on ushers.

I don’t think we have to worry about the Soul moving to “All-in-town,” Dan (see previous post).  I don’t think they want to play every game for $10 and even at that price they’re having trouble selling.  For PLAYOFFS, no less.  Plus, I don’t think they’ll get me to buy tickets ever again.

.

“…fool me once, shame on — shame on you. Fool me — you can’t get fooled again.”

-President George W. Bush

See you at the arena–I guess, but I’m not buying anything in there:  The Soul likely get a share of the concessions, but not from Chickie’s, if I understand how it works,

@Kram209

PS:  Go ahead and use that code above if you want.  I’m not in a hurry to help them sell tickets, but if you’re going anyway I don’t want you to get ripped off like I was.



Categories: Kram's Korner - From the Club Level

Leave a Reply

