IRONPIGS TODAY: “Happy Hours (and Hours, and Hours)” 5/20/2016

“Third inning already?  This game is going to be over FAST…”

-Jorge

 

Buchanan with another quality start. Photo: Cheryl Pursell

Buchanan with another quality start. Photo: Cheryl Pursell

An evening that started with Happy Hour ended many hours later with a Pigs win.

RHP David Buchanan scattered eight hits over seven innings, but The Chief couldn’t put it away and we went to extras.  Twice, the team came back from two-down to extend the game.  Finally, Knappy sliced a double to left scoring Perkins, to walk it off with the backup catcher on the mound for the Hens.  Featherston was a double short of the cycle and Hunter, Knapp (who didn’t start) and Alonso chipped in two hits each, along with Alonso knocking in three.  The Hens pounded out 20 hits on the evening.

The ‘Pigs have won seven of their last eight, 7-3 last 10, but remain in third place–a game back–in the IL North as Scranton and Rochester both won last night as well.


Years ago, I missed the AAA debut of both Michael Taylor and Dom Brown, so I guess I shouldn’t be shocked to learn that I’ll miss JP Crawford‘s first IronPigs game tonight.  That’s right, an inside source tells me that Crawford will be promoted in time for tonight’s game.  I didn’t get any other information about who else might be on the move, but I have to speculate that Angelys Nina may be done in Allentown.  I’m not sure if Nina will get sent down to Reading, but I’d also have to think that KC Serna and perhaps Angelo Mora will hold down shortstop in Baseballtown for now.  Malquin Canelo from Clearwater should be the heir apparent there, but hitting only .238 right now they may want to hold off a bit.  Then again, he’s been in Clearwater for a while, and his fielding is certainly good enough for AA.  We’ll see.

But who knows?  My source might be mistaken, or could just be messing with me.  I’ll always go with, “you’ll know what I know” kind of policy and we’ll all move on from there.

If there are roster moves today, I’ll try to get them up on the blog if I have time.  Otherwise, we’ll get to it tomorrow.

 


Today’s Game

The “Bacon and Eggs” series continues–without all the fluff–tonight.  It’s a 7:05PM first pitch with gates open at 5;45PM and the Club at 5:30PM.

RHP Jake Thompson (2-4, 3.32) takes the mound for the home team in black, while the MudHens plan to send LHP Matt Boyd (1-3, 1.93).  In Toledo last Sunday, Boyd gave up two runs over seven in the IronPigs eventual 5-0 win.  Hunter had a double and Knapp had a dinger off Boyd.  Thompson pitched a two-hitter over seven, in perhaps his best start of the year.  It will be interesting to see him face the same team in two consecutive outings–Buck seemed to do OK with that last night.

Promotions:  It’s Fireworks tonight sponsored by Labatt, and St Luke’s EMS night.

Cap:  It’s gotta be a black cap for Friday–although I won’t be there tonight…

 

Kram’s Korner

Felt good to get that win last night.  I probably would have left, but since we missed the walk-off on Tuesday, and we kept falling behind, I just ended up sticking it out.  I’m glad I did.

Missing tonight’s game–my second miss this week and my second overall for the season–isn’t optimal.  Somehow, date night with Mrs. Kram doesn’t include Coca Cola Park this time.  In the winter, I’m usually able to trick her into hockey by going to dinner downtown.  😉

 

Link of the Day

When we do the “official” media stuff, I always try to be kind of professional.  Not that I don’t try to have fun with it, too–and certainly not because I take myself too seriously or have any kind of career aspirations–but out of respect for the players.  It’s a game, but it’s a hard–and the minors can be a challenging place sometimes.  Anyway, only one player ever made me lose my cool.  “Let’s…Go…Blanc…O!”  That’s right, our buddy Andres Blanco sent me into full fan-boy mode one time.

There has been a bit of a changing of the guard with respect to the Philly beat writers; this Matt Breen piece about our buddy Andres Blanco, was outstanding.

 

See you at the park (tomorrow…),

@Kram209



Categories: Kram's Korner - From the Club Level, Lehigh Valley IronPigs

Tags:

Leave a Reply

