Steel FC Takes Down Top Dog

Steel FC might have been the forgotten team on Sunday, with the Phantoms and IronPigs also hosting games on the gorgeous afternoon, but their win was no less impressive than the wins by the other two professional teams.  I sent Kram3 and Mrs. Kram to check it out and make sure my tickets were used as I was at IronPigs and Phantoms.

Coming off a tough loss in New York to RBII, there was concern that the fledgling franchise might have difficulty handling the top team in the league, Richmond.

Alas, the team was able to come up with a 2-1 victory, and reports from the game were glowing.  I don’t usually like to just copy and paste media releases, but I will below because I want the info out there and I didn’t really see it anywhere else.

Also, check out this post from our friend d.F., who also had some thoughts on the game.

Steel FC are home again this week to face Charleston Battery at 3PM Sunday at Goodman.  Good seats are still available.

.

Photo: Cheryl Pursell

Photo: Cheryl Pursell

Media Release from Steel FC:

Bethlehem Steel FC Defeat Richmond Kickers At Home

Derrick Jones scores first professional goal

BETHLEHEM, Pa. (April 17, 2016) – Bethlehem Steel FC won their second home game of the season 2-1 Sunday afternoon against Richmond Kickers.

Bethlehem Steel FC saw the first real chance on goal in the 19th minute when Eric Ayuk found Derrick Jones in the six-yard box. The young Cameroonian crossed the ball to Jones, whose aerial shot went straight into the hands of the Kickers’ keeper Ryan Taylor.

The home side scored just a few minutes later in the 21st minute when Cole Missimo played a back heeled pass to Ayuk who scored from the top of the 18.

 

Bethlehem extended the lead to 2-0 after the start of the second half in the 46th minute when Jones capitalized on Ayuk’s assist. Ayuk dribbled down the pitch, laying the ball off to Jones at the top of the 18. Jones then scored his first professional goal after joining Bethlehem Steel FC from the Philadelphia Union Academy.

Just four minutes later, Yudai Imura scored from a corner kick and made the score 2-1.

Steel FC (2-2-0) return to action on Sunday, April 24 when they take on Charleston Battery at 3 p.m. The game will be televised on Service Electric TV2.

MATCH RECAP

Bethlehem Steel FC 2, Richmond Kickers 1

Goodman Stadium

Bethlehem, Pa.

 

SCORING SUMMARY

BSFC – Eric Ayuk (Cole Missimo) 21’

BSFC – Derrick Jones (Eric Ayuk) 46’

RIC – Yudai Imura 50’

DISCIPLINE SUMMARY

RIC – Travis Pittman (yellow) 54’

BSFC – Derrick Jones (yellow) 79’

 

BETHLEHEM STEEL FC STARTING XI

John McCarthy; Taylor Washington, Auston Trusty, Mickey Daly, Ryan Richter ©; Derrick Jones, Boluwatife Akinyode, Eric Ayuk, Gabe Gissie (Amoy Brown 86’), Cole Missimo (Jamie Luchini 65’); Seku Conneh (Josh Heard 90+1’)

 

Substitutes not used: Samir Badr, Mark McKenzie, Lamine Conte, Joseph DeZart II

RICHMOND KICKERS STARTING XI

Ryan Taylor, Braeden Troyer, Travis Pittman (Matthew Delicâte 77’), William Yomby, Hugh Roberts, Mike Callahan (Owusu Sekyere 69′), Lucas Paulini (Luiz Fernando 37’), Brian Ownby (Sascha Görres 88’), Miguel Aguilar (Sunny Jane 72’), Yudai Imura, Jason Yeisley

 

Substitutes not used: Sawyer Gaffney, Romulo Peretta

MATCH OFFICIALS 

Guido Gonzales Jr (Center), Joseph Zawistowski (Assistant), Brandon Smith (Assistant), Patrick Casey (Fourth).

ATTENDANCE

2,417

 

TEAM NOTES

  •    Derrick Jones scored his first professional goal
  •     Academy product Auston Trusty made his second start for Bethlehem Steel FC
  •     Jamie Luchini, a local Lehigh University student, made his USL debut
  •     Eric Ayuk scored his second goal of the season
  •     Bethlehem Steel FC now have a record of 2-2-0 in the inaugural 2016 season.

BOX SCORE:  BSFC v RIC 04.17 Stats

——

Quotes from the Coaches and Players:

Bethlehem Steel FC Post-Game Against Richmond Kickers Quotes 

Brendan Burke

Burke on coming back from the New York Red Bulls II game:

I told the boys earlier in the week that it is never as bad as you think it is until you break down the film. We weren’t far off that game in the first half in New York, we just had a couple of unfortunate mistakes early on in the game and if we got the energy level right and kept the lines compact today, we were going to give ourselves a chance to win and Eric and Derrick went and got us two good goals.

 

On the team’s performance:  

I was very happy with the way we played. We talked at length at halftime about not dropping into a shell and absorbing as much pressure. Disappointed to give up a goal on a set piece but outside of that I thought we continued to play dangerous in their end and maintain possession for short spells on their end of the field.

 

On Derrick Jones’ first pro goal: 

That was by far his best performance, now he knows what it feels like so expect more of that. That was very good out of him.

 

On Derrick and Bolu in the midfield:

They’re long, they’re athletic, they both brought the right level of intensity today and I think if they can continue to do that that’s a very good pairing for us.

 

On the team’s formation: 

We talked about getting our back four pressed up against our midfield and keeping compact from back to front. That was everything for us all week, and staying compact from side to side. I thought we did an excellent job of that against a team that looks to play a lot of big diagonal balls and knock down, so it’s important to have bodies around the ball and we did it well.

 

Derrick Jones

 

On scoring his first professional goal:

I feel great. I’m so excited because it was my first pro goal so I’m really happy.

On working with Eric Ayuk: 

It helped me a lot because he kept talking to me, I listen to him a lot so he sometimes he tell me what to do, so I think it really helped me today.

 

On rebuilding from last weekend’s defeat: 

We had to win this game. There was no way we were going to lose three games in a row, so we came with the mindset of winning.

 

On the mindset at halftime:   

We was going to keep playing like we were going to play in the first half. We were just going to go play.

 

Jamie Luchini

 

On playing professional soccer on his college campus:

It’s pretty interesting to be honest. It’s weird because it’s the same routine in terms of leaving my house off campus house here and just driving five minutes to the game field, so it makes the environment a lot easier to transition to in my opinion.

 

On getting game time:

I know what I can bring to a team, I’m a guy that is going to contribute offensively and can work defensively as well, but it was good to get that many minutes in todays game, that’s something I can get off my back now.

 

On his shot: 

That’s something I did a lot in college, I shoot the ball. I think I was something like second in the nation in shots per game, so I like shooting it, I’m not afraid to shoot it, I’m confident in shooting it and I thought I had one there, but it just kept rolling.

 

Eric Ayuk

 

On scoring his second goal of the season:

It feels great, so happy because the fans came, a lot of fans, so we have to make the fans happy.

 

On  playing in front of Bolu and Jones:

Yeah, I am happy since last week we kept talking about this game and I keep talking to Jones and the rest of the guys. We have to keep pressing and we are. It’s true we young, you have to keep opportunity to keep on playing and keep improving.

 

Mickey Daly:

 

On the difference between this week and last week:

I think overall defensively we were way more organized this week. We had a lot of energy through the fours. The backline closing down winning second balls. Just overall, I think we were way more organized and worked way harder.

 

On the team:

It’s all about the way we worked. We said this week we want to work hard pick up a lot of balls and just defend as hard as we can.

 

On playing with academy player Auston Trusty:

Trusty has actually been training a lot with us and I’ve played a couple preseason games with him as well.  We train together a lot, we’re pretty comfortable with each other. I thought we as a back four did a good job.



Categories: Bethlehem Steel FC

Leave a Reply

