“Not Really Worried About The Results”

Billingsley on rehab. - Cheryl Pursell

Billingsley on rehab. – Cheryl Pursell

Chad Billingsley got the start last night at Coca Cola Park–as you probably know–on a rehab assignment as he works his way back to the Major Leagues.  For many years, he was a mainstay in the Dodger’s starting rotation before spending the last couple years having two elbow surgeries and going through the rehab process twice.  Now he’s healthy, and signed to an incentive-laden MLB contract with the Phillies.  While he’s not going to be part of the next really good Phillies team, he may keep the Phillies competitive in some games this summer and could even bring some value as a trade piece at the deadline if he’s healthy and pitching well.

He looked pretty good last night.  He’ll need to avoid getting too much of the plate, which cost him a couple home runs in his outing.  From my untrained eye, I’d say he needs at least one–if not two–more starts before heading to the Phillies.  If he remains in the IronPigs’ rotation, he’ll be on schedule to pitch for us the morning of Wednesday the 15th versus Syracuse.

Meeting with reporters following his work last night, Chad was happy with his progress and said he felt good.  Then he said he’s not really worried about the results.  

We had a lot of fun with that last night.  Or, maybe it was just DiPro’s new drinking regimen, but just imagine telling your boss, your clients, or your customers, “I’m not really worried about the results.”

“Ma’am, I’m sorry about screwing up your tax return, but I’m not really worried about the results.”

“Sir, I know your car still doesn’t run, but I’m not really worried about the results.” 

“The surgery was not a success, but you have to keep in mind, “I’m not really worried about the results.”

Mrs. Kram asked me to fix the toilet last weekend.  My response:   “Hun, I’m sorry that the toilet still doesn’t flush, but I’m not really worried about the results.”

I don’t know if Chad noticed, but there’s an old fashioned scoreboard out in center field (which needs to be updated…) where they keep track of the runs that score in the game.  You know, so that we can tell who wins and who loses.  And then, that’s the results of the game!

Oh, I know:  I’ve been a Minor League fan long enough.  I’m just kidding around with the words.

The real results are in the Majors and the process of getting better as a player was the point of last night’s start.  I found myself using the same words with Kram3 this morning.  His team lost their soccer scrimmage last night, and I knew he’d be upset about the results.  The thing is, the scrimmage was set up to not only prepare his team for their first Spring game on Sunday, but to help them develop as soccer players.  So I said the same exact words to him, “Don’t worry about the results.  Work hard on your game to become a better player.”  He’s already a very competitive person–with another player maybe I wouldn’t have said it that way.  I don’t want him to lose track of the big picture.  The ultimate results.  You can lose a battle and still win a war, right?

That’s all Mr. Billingsley was trying to do last night–and that’s OK.  It didn’t keep us from staying to the end to see if we could come back from those two home runs he gave up, though.  (Berken, you’re off the hook this once.)  And for my part, if I’ve got something to cheer for at the end of the game, I guess that’s all I really need.  Well, that and DiPro’s new drinking regimen.

Back at it tonight:  “Maikel Cycle Bobble Doll Night” with first pitch at 6:35PM.  I have no idea what time you’ll need to get there to get a bobble doll from the front gate.  Good luck, and may the eBay be with you.  Young Sev Gonzalez will be on the mound for the ‘Pigs, to face off against highly touted lefty Henry Owens of the Paw Sox–another name mentioned in Cole Hamels trade talks.  It will only be 53 degrees at game time, but the sun will be out and all will be good.  I’ll be there cheering for the results.

See you at the park,

@Kram209

PS:  Rolf, don’t kill me over here.  These posts are all for fun.  I’m not really worried about the results. 😉



Categories: Kram's Korner - From the Club Level, Lehigh Valley IronPigs

3 replies

  1. The day Kurt Landes stands up and declares, “There are only one hundred people in my baseball stadium that holds 10,000 or so — but I’m not really worried about the results” is the day that I send Chad Billingsley a sincere note to tell him that I have no problem with him letting the Pawtucket players blatantly litter the beautiful Coca-Cola Park lawn — twice!

    Meanwhile, back on the planet in a galaxy far, far away that I grew up on, youth soccer coaches wound up entirely too tight continue to give lectures to aspiring players which include such time-honored themes as, “You Play The Way You Practice”, “It Isn’t A Light Switch That You Can Turn On And Off At Will” and, of course, “Failing To Prepare Is Preparing To Fail”.

    Billingsley might want to walk his statement back on the double. I understand the guy is new in town and probably isn’t aware of the Lehigh Valley IronPigs’ traditional lofty standards of minor league sporting excellence. So I am more than prepared to cop a forgiving attitude.

    🙂

    • See, I knew you were going to be on me for this one. 🙂

      There are different kinds of “results” of course…

      But as to soccer–and as someone who’s done a little youth soccer coaching–different players need different things. “Kram3” doesn’t need encouragement to play hard in a scrimmage. He needs to understand that he’s playing against a team ranked two levels above his (not unbeatable, but difficult) while his coaches are trying different players in different positions and looking forward to the first league match on Sunday. Meanwhile he’s got a broken toe–taped it up and got out there for a scrimmage, then back on the pitch at 8AM this morning for training and will miss the IronPigs game tomorrow for the match. No “participation trophies” here. As a TEAM, yeah, they’ve got to pay attention, train hard, and do their work. As an individual, he needs to take it down a notch, realize he can’t try to do too much, and that not all losses are his fault. (see also: BERKEN, Jason)

  2. That’s a good thing, when kids are made to play against more skillful (if not older) players …

Leave a Reply

