2015 IronPigs Roster Prediction: Catcher

Now that Spring Training has begun, I’ll get going with my annual, futile, attempt to guess the IronPigs roster for when they take the field on April 9 at Coca Cola Park.  Below, I’ll not mention the possibility of trades, injuries, and outright releases, because they are always possible and I have no inside information which would allow me to predict such.  I’m just calling it as I see it.  It’s a bit different this season, because I believe the Phillies’ own motivations on how to construct their roster may be a bit different than in recent years.  We’ll see, I guess.  Oh, one more thing:  I’ll likely forget somebody or make an inappropriate assumption somewhere along the line. Please feel free to add information or corrections in the comment section.  Thanks.  Here we go:

 

We’ll go position by position around the diamond in the appropriate order, but I’ll save the pitchers for last.

Tommy Joseph Photo: Cheryl Pursell

Tommy Joseph
Photo: Cheryl Pursell

Catcher:

The Candidates:

  1. Cameron Rupp
  2. John Hester
  3. Koyie Hill
  4. Tommy Joseph

The Prediction:

Cameron Rupp and Koyie Hill

Discussion:

The Phillies are going to need someone to back up Chooch in Philadelphia.  For now, I have the veteran John Hester as that guy.  And, if Tommy Joseph can avoid hitting the ball off his foot (see above), I think they’re going to want to get him back to AAA as quickly as possible.  There are some other guys who could also be in the mix in Reading, but I think ToJo starts there initially.

Cam Rupp is on the 40-man roster, as is Tommy Joseph, but both have options available.  Room would need to be cleared to add John Hester, so that may give Cam an inside track if he does well this Spring.

@Kram209



Categories: Kram's Korner - From the Club Level, Lehigh Valley IronPigs

Tags:

1 reply

Trackbacks

  1. 2015 IronPigs Roster Predictions: Infield Overview |

Leave a Reply

