Thinking About Hats

This gorgeous New Era fitted Phantoms hat is no longer available.  You can always tell the old gear, because the trim (within the logo, in this case) is purple, instead of the new "electric blue."

This gorgeous New Era fitted Phantoms hat is no longer available. You can always tell the old gear, because the trim (within the logo, in this case) is purple, instead of the new “electric blue.”

I always wear a cap to a baseball game.  Always.  If I forget one, I’ve usually got an extra in the trunk.  If not, I’ll buy a new one when I get there.  Something about a baseball game–I need to be wearing a cap.  And now, many ‘Pig-years and a few new logos later, I’ve got enough IronPigs caps to wear a different one for every game of a home stand.  And I’m not even going to detail how long the home stand is.  I’ve got enough–trust me.

So with the arrival of the Phantoms at the PPL Center, I had to consider my hat strategy.  Do I purchase a new Phantoms cap?  Or, I could just wear one of my black IronPigs caps.  But wait, do I even need a cap at all, for hockey?

First, the players don’t wear caps–it’s not part of the uniform.  Second, the game is played indoors (usually…), so is it even appropriate to be wearing a cap?  Finally, the Phantoms have some nice caps in their collection, but none that I favor right now.

And one more thing:  I’ve got good hair.  Hear me out:  I might be old and fat and what little athletic ability I once had is now long gone.  But I’ve still got my hair.  Why should I cover it up with a hat if I don’t have to?  So, for a while now, I haven’t been wearing caps to the hockey games.

Until…

The teddy bear toss.

What could that possibly have to do with hats?  Well, I started to imagine the first hat trick in the PPL Center.  Sure, we had the Gordie Howe Hat Trick by Blair Jones a few games back, but I mean the first real hatter.  What am I gonna throw?  That’s right.  I’ve gotta start wearing a cap to the hockey games, just in case.

And it doesn’t even have to be a nice one like the photo above–who’d wanna throw that on the ice?  I think I found a use for all of those free giveaway caps we get during IronPigs season.

See you at the arena,

@Kram209



Categories: Kram's Korner - From the Club Level, Lehigh Valley IronPigs, Phantoms Hockey

1 reply

  1. Brilliant, man… just blinkin’ brilliant!!

Leave a Reply

