Pigs Drop Another: I Just Don’t Know

You know, nobody ever asked me to write the game recaps.  I’m not a writer; nobody asked me to write a blog.  I just showed up here and Dan lets me do stuff…  There’s a lot I just don’t know:

  • I don’t know why the opposing manager was tossed during the lineup exchange last night.  You’ve got to want the night off pretty badly I’d think.  Is he still sore about the play at the plate Saturday night?  Is he still upset about the horse race taking an extra 60 seconds?  I just don’t know.
  • I don’t know why we’re not hitting.  Are guys trying too hard?  Not talented enough?  Bad luck?  I suppose you’ve got to give the opposing pitcher some love:  his last few outings were really, really good–I knew that going into last night.  It’s just disheartening scoring 1 or 2 runs each night.
  • I just don’t know why Greg Smith would change his delivery at this juncture.  I knew something was funny last night, but I just didn’t totally figure out he was delivering differently.  But, not having a wind-up yet, and not delivering all pitches from the same slot yet, he still managed to have some pretty good innings other than that first one.  Greg’s no rookie; I’m sure he knows what he’s doing…
  • If they didn’t know Polanco was getting called up, then I don’t know why he didn’t play last night.  Supposedly, they got a call after the game, and he was notified in the visitor’s club house at Coca Cola Park.  I’m sorry we didn’t get to see him play again.
  • I just don’t know if Tony Sanchez is good or not.  He reminds me a bit of Tuffy Gosewisch, but that’s not too bad for a catcher.
  • I just don’t know why folks need to get up during the game so much.  Sit down.  There’s lots of time in between innings.  And don’t get me started about kicking the seat backs….
  • I just don’t know why they try to make Gyros at the Pig Stop.  I love the Pig Stop, but superior Gyros can be had just a few steps away in the plaza.  And, there’s a $1 off coupon on your parking ticket.
  • I just don’t know why those kids keep walking on my lawn…

But, there is some stuff I do know:

  • I know there’s another game tonight, so I shouldn’t be too depressed about the last two.
  • I know the guys get a day off tomorrow, and that’s good.  It’s their only day off in June.
  • I know they head to first-place Rochester for the weekend.
  • I know they’ve been playing better ball on the road than at home (I don’t know WHY).
  • I know that beating up Rochester this weekend will likely make me forget all about this horrible 8-game home stand against Western Division foes.  Winning in the North is what’s important.
  • I know that the IronPigs are playing good defense.  Those nice plays in the field are heartening…
  • I know that Tyler Henson welcomed a new baby boy to his family yesterday.  Bryer Henson was 7 lbs 6 oz and 20 inches long.  He and Mommy are doing great.  And I know THAT’S way more important than a couple of baseball games.
  • I know that Cheryl’s pictures last night were some of her best.  At least thought so.  Judge for yourself!
Greg Smith's New Delivery Photo: Cheryl Pursell

Greg Smith’s New Delivery
Photo: Cheryl Pursell

Michael Martinez with the "fast ball" salute Photo: Cheryl Pursell

Michael Martinez with the “fast ball” salute
Photo: Cheryl Pursell

The Newest Pirate:  Gregory Polanco.   Photo: Cheryl Pursell

The Newest Pirate: Gregory Polanco.
Photo: Cheryl Pursell

Stealing Third Photo: Cheryl Pursell

Stealing Third
Photo: Cheryl Pursell

Spears Steal 1 Photo: Cheryl Pursell

Spears Steal 1
Photo: Cheryl Pursell

Spears Safe! Photo: Cheryl Pursell

Spears Safe!
Photo: Cheryl Pursell

Ryal with a nice play Photo: Cheryl Pursell

Ryal with a nice play
Photo: Cheryl Pursell

Ryal again! Photo: Cheryl Pursell

Ryal again!
Photo: Cheryl Pursell

Steve Susdorf is a professional hitter. Photo: Cheryl Pursell

Steve Susdorf is a professional hitter.
Photo: Cheryl Pursell

Spears with a base-knock Photo: Cheryl Pursell

Spears with a base-knock
Photo: Cheryl Pursell

See you at the park, hopefully I’ll know more by then….

@Kram209

2 Comments

Filed under CherylPursellsPhotos, Kram's Korner - From the Club Level, Lehigh Valley IronPigs

2 responses to “Pigs Drop Another: I Just Don’t Know

  1. I don’t know why you bunt with the power hitter!
    [Hey I love the small ball but “Holy Toledo” time and place.]

    I don’t get the whole Greg Smith re-make – perhaps he will go by ‘S’ now?
    [No one ever asked me to be a pitching coach]

    I do know why it’s good to skip a game now and again.
    [To find out the mgr got tossed from a play the previous night – must have been that play at the plate. And listening more closely then when at the game to Matt & Jon!]

    I don’t know why I post to this blog.
    [No one ever asked me – hahaha]

  2. Interesting that the Pig Stop was serving “Greek Wraps” at tonight’s game that seemed very close to being a gryo…

Leave a Reply

